skip navigation

3 Prolific Players Selected Nike Hoop Summit

By USA Basketball, 03/24/23, 2:30PM PDT


Nike announced today the World Select Team rosters for the 2023 Nike Hoop Summit, set for Saturday, April 8 at Moda Center in Portland, Oregon. The 2023 event features a men’s game and the inaugural women’s game with the top international athletes 19-and-younger facing off against the top American high school seniors. Tickets for the 24th Nike Hoop Summit can be purchased by clicking here. 

The 2023 World Select Team selects its roster from FIBA Africa, FIBA Americas, FIBA Asia, FIBA Europe and FIBA Oceania, with approved sanction of FIBA, the governing body of international basketball. 

The men’s team will be led by head coach Kaleb Canales and the women’s team by head coach CarlyClarke

The inaugural women’s World Select Team features 6-foot-4 center Reina Fukuo from Ohka Gakuen High School (Japan) and Dorja Iva Zaja, a 6-3 forward from Croatia playing for Tresnjevka. NyadiewPuoch is a 6-1 forward from Australia who currently plays for the WNBL Southside Flyers and SylaSwords is a 6-foot guard from Lo-Ellen Park Secondary (Canada). Additional members of the roster include Diana Collins (Sweden), Marine Dursus (France), Toby Fournier (Canada), Delaney Gibb(Canada), Madina Okot (Kenya), Diora Ressaissi (Sweden), Shaneice Swain (Australia) and Letycia Vasconcelos (Brazil). 

Headlining the men’s World Select Team roster are two players who participated in the 2022 Nike Hoop Summit, four McDonald’s All-Americans and the youngest Frenchman to start in the EuroLeague. LondonJohnson (Jamaica), currently playing for the NBA G League Ignite, participated in the 2022 Nike Hoop Summit. Mackenzie Mgbako (Nigeria), a Duke University commit, participated in the 2022 Nike Hoop Summit and was named a 2023 McDonald’s All-American. Fellow 2023 McDonald’s All-American AdenHolloway is a 6-foot Canadian point guard who will attend Auburn University. Joining Holloway and Mgbako as a McDonald’s All-American is Baye Fall, a 6-10 Senegalese center committed to attend the University of Arkansas. Zaccharie Risacher is a 6-8 French small forward currently playing for ASVEL in the French Pro A League. Additional members of the roster are Taylor Bol Bowen (South Sudan), Garwey Dual (South Sudan), Miro Little (Finland), Yves Missi (Cameroon), Michael Nwoko(Canada), Ibrahim Sacko (Guinea), Andrej Stojakovic (Greece) and Alex Toohey (Australia). 

Some of the NBA’s biggest stars have turned in key performances at the Nike Hoop Summit. In the 2011 game, Anthony Davis recorded 16 points, 10 rebounds and two blocks; Dirk Nowitzki recorded 33 points and helped the World Team to a win in 1998; and in 2014, Nikola Jokic had 5 points and seven rebounds. The USA boasts a 16-7 series advantage over the world team. An impressive 262 Nike Hoop Summit alumni have been drafted by NBA teams, with 14 having been selected with the No. 1 pick and 90 taken in the top 10. For more information, click here. 

Held annually since 1995, except for 2001-03 and 2020-21, the Nike Hoop Summit has been in Portland since 2008.